Site Meter
2004-02-26 | 11:22 a.m. | my long update
It's been a while, but i'll see what I can do.

Marty and I are happy with each other. We've had ups and downs, but keep in mind that we're still learning about each other. Our first year of marriage wasn't all that bad...hell, neither one of us has decided to leave, so that's sayin' something, right?

it's the other stuff that's not so good. first marty loses his job in march of last year. then i lose my job at the end of june. then i get a really good job at the end of july, marty gets an okay job at the beginning of september, i lose my really good job at the beginning of october, and here we sit. needless to say we're struggling, but we're not starving so it can't be all bad.

so there was a month a couple years back where i was really tired all the time and i gained 40 pounds in a month without eating anything. nobody had any solutions for me. eventually i worked through it and either the feeling of fatigue went away or i just stopped noticing it. fast forward to a month ago. i got my usual seasonal cold on a sunday, and by thursday i was developing strep throat and my kidneys were killing me. a good two gallons of orange juice seemed to alleviate both, so all was good until that fatigue came back and i gained 10 pounds. keep in mind that this overwhelming feeling of tiredness...it slams you and keeps you in bed. I didn't even want to play animal crossing. i didn't want to even get out of bed to watch t.v. i debated going to the bathroom on several occasions. needless to say i didn't get my fat ass out of bed to shove food in my face. the only time i ingested liquids was when marty got home every night after 7p.m. so it definately wasn't the fact that i overate. this goes on for a week. i go into a new doc the following monday wherein he tells me i'm crazy, none of that stuff could have happened like i said it did, but he's willing to run all kinds of tests just to make sure.

there's nothing like exploiting health insurance in the name of science.

so i'm going in for an ultrasound tomorrow to see if maybe my ovaries have gone haywire, and therefore have caused something in me. this last cold definately kicked something up in my body, and i just need to know what it is. i can deal with the fact that aliens were implanted in my body. that's cool.

marty's health is okay. we suspect he's got some sort of testosterone deficiency. it's a longer story than my bad-health bullshit, so let's leave it with "we're working on it."

so i joined this live-action-role-play group. i didn't want to, but i had to. my husband belongs to it, and i would go with him to his games and sit around reading while he pretended to be something else. occasionally he'd stop and hang out with me. it was okay. but then somebody else's girlfriend (who was copying me) started some shit one day so in order to be fair they enforced their rule of "you've been here at least three times, so now join or get lost." so i joined. then one day some asshole said "well, you paid all that money to join, you might as well do something other than reading." and so i got involved. not role-playing mind you, just helping out with the real-life logistics of paperwork and finding places to have these games.
it's been six months since i've gotten heavily involved with this organization. can i just say that i have generally thought that geeks were better than most people? but they're not. maybe it's just the rpg kind of geeks that are stuck in high school. these "adults" act like spoiled brats all the time. it's insane. they have no sense of decency, decorum, maturity and sometimes intelligence. but those are just the ones i deal with in the chicagoland area. i can't speak for everyone else around the world that belongs to this organization. the kicker is that a good portion of the people in our group here have a livejournal. i've never been too keen on the LJ, so i'm here at good ol' diaryland. i learned very early on that what you write is open to opinion, both good and bad. what you write is open to the world, good and bad. as long as one person knows you have an online diary then it's officially public. the irresponsible cretons i have the pleasure of associating with don't understand this. they have all kinds of problems with everyone else in our organization and they choose to vent those frustrations out online.

clearly i have no objection.

but the problem is that they aren't working to resolve these issues. then they wonder why nothing changes. it's easy enough to hide behind words and scathing entries that our organization can't punish you for writing. in fact, only half-wits and pussies do that. i know. i have. but true respect is earned by those that not only complain but take action. if i could instill a sense of maturity in these people i would. since i can't i either have to live with it or leave the group. i choose not to leave so i really can't complain. and honestly this is the first time i've brought it up here. i think it irritates me more than anything. it irritates me that these worthless, low-life, 12-year-olds don't have the balls to say these things to the people they're complaining about. it is fair to say that everyone knows how i feel, so there's no hypocracy going on from me. and to think i put up with this inane bullshit just to spend time with my husband.

well kids, i think i've pretty much filled you in on all the hoopla. you can always write to me at [email protected]. or you can write in my guestbook. or you can start reading another diary. your call.

~Miss Mari

Last

Next

Older

Rings

Profile

Calendar

Email me

The Land of Diaries

Download AIMAIM RemoteSend me an Instant MessageAdd me to Your Buddy ListAdd Remote to Your Page
Download AOL Instant Messenger