Site Meter
2004-08-11 | 7:29 p.m. | mother nature, i paid the heat bill. bring summer back.
So winter up and got itself in a big ass hurry. Damn if the high isn't 62 degrees. And colder by the lake...

i got myself another job. it's downtown, i get a lot of exercise, and i have to watch the weather so that i don't dress inappropriately. i was hired to cover for some lady on medical leave, but my immediate boss left me with the impression that i'm permanent. of course, nobody knows this, still referring to me as "the temp," which means i find myself in another questionable job situation. at least i'm doubling the income for the lair and we're being very unfrivilous with our extra money. well...we are, but we're spending on things that we need but could never afford, like a birthday present for marty's mom, and a pair of shoes for work.

we're selling the house and we're moving to a fabulous new apartment. I'm very excited because it's closer to marty's work which means more time with me, it's cheaper which means less money to spread around, and it's got a bitchin' pool. it's guy approved (according to my husband) due to the number of hot chicks that were there when we visited. our original moving plans were to just take it easy and move the bigger furniture and essentials in the morning and then spend the rest of the day loungin' by the pool. now that this whacked-out pre-game session of winter has arrived, i don't know if pool-loungin' will be where it's at. kinda makes me wish we'd picked the apartment with the fireplace. damn.

my sister-in-law. well, to sum up, she joined this catholic evangelical group, where two people (per campus, not total) are stationed at college campuses around the country and provide catholocism (bible study, counseling, mentorship) to the college kids. the details of how this thing works and how she provides money for herself are pretty sketchy, but we'll save my opinions on that for another time.
we (meaning me, my husband, and my mother-in-law) were under the impression that she'd be shacked up in a not-too-horrible apartment close to the college campus which the organization that sponsors this would be paying for. the first suprise to me and my husband was that part of her "fundraising" was to pay for her housing. the next huge blow was that the town she was sent to has 2 meat-packing plants, supposedly one in the north and one in the south, which means there will be no opening windows to let fresh air in. the deal-breaker (at least it would have been for me) was the the really old house that some nice lady is letting these girls stay in is overcome with mold. my s-i-l has asthma, and was suffering quite a bit because of this mold. the lady that owns the house is conveniently far far away on a bereavement trip. this can become a hefty situation of life or death for my husband's sister, and it's funny in that not-really-funny-at-all way.
i'll provide more antics on her adventure as they become available.

that's it for now.

~Miss Mari

Last

Next

Older

Rings

Profile

Calendar

Email me

The Land of Diaries

Download AIMAIM RemoteSend me an Instant MessageAdd me to Your Buddy ListAdd Remote to Your Page
Download AOL Instant Messenger