Site Meter
2006-08-04 | 12:36 p.m. | This Peach wants a Cracker
I've seen so much since I've been down here in Atlanta.

I went to Kennesaw Mountain , where we drove up to the top. I then hiked up to the tippy-top and took pictures of the cannons that have been there since "the unpleasantness between the states." Those cannons were hauled up that mountain by man alone, and lord help me, I didn't see an incline on that mountain that wasn't stupid steep. I tried taking pictures of downtown Atlanta from the top, but it was too humid.

Speaking of weather, it's been pretty nice down here, while everywhere else is boiling rotten. I think that's pretty fortunate of me.

I was introduced to that hibachi of the south: Waffle House . They're open twenty-four hours a day, you know. The food is cheap, and pretty good. I decided to do like the Romans do and see what sticks, so I tried grits with my waffle breakfast this morning.

The Romans can keep 'em. Grits ain't stickin' to this girl.

Yesterday I had a sausage, egg and cheese sandwich on buttered toast, and today I had the grand poobah waffle breakfast. Christ almighty, it was worth it. They put crack in their waffles. There was even a sign on the door that said "Thanks for coming. We'll see you tomorrow."
Damn right you will.

This is also Georgia's Tax Free Holiday, so we've been stocking up on clothes, and other tax-free eligible items. Tax free may not sound like big chickens to you, but you have to remember, I'm saving 8%. When you buy three new $9 dress shirts, two pairs of $15 pants for Marty, and new socks and underwear at five dollars a pack for each you're talking about a free pack of undies or socks. Keep in mind that some electronics are tax free too, so I could save a bundle on a new computer if I had the available cash.

I've hit the Sonic more than I should have, but I really have to since I'll be doing without it for god knows how long. I've also been making the fam stop at a Quiktrip every time I see one. I love the fact that I can go to the beverage fountain, have my choice of crushed or cubed ice, and then get sweet tea, unsweet tea, or make a mighty mixed beverage with slushie, fountain, or other drinks.

What's on the agenda for the rest of the week? I'll go to the movies with mom since dad hates going, go back to the army navy surplus store to purchase some BDU's for Martin, drive around and be in love with the trees around here. I have to admit feeling just like Agent Cooper when he said "Diane, the trees here are amazing!" And they are. The Georgia pines are just gorgeous. Even the kudzu is astonishing. We'll probably take pictures of covered bridges, travel to other unexplored parts, and take naps. Lots and lots of naps.

~Miss Mari

Last

Next

Older

Rings

Profile

Calendar

Email me

The Land of Diaries

Download AIMAIM RemoteSend me an Instant MessageAdd me to Your Buddy ListAdd Remote to Your Page
Download AOL Instant Messenger